I am currently on hiatus, just to take a break from blogging. Will be back after Eid Fitr, hopefully. Talk to you soon!

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Review : Doll Bones by Holly Black

Title : Doll Bones
Author : Holly Black
Publication date: May 7th 2013 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

I am not really into horror books, frankly. If you check on the post categories in this blog, you'd see only a handful of them. So, I thought, why not read one, well, just in time, I found Doll Bones and I am instantly interested.

I read Black's novels a few years back, (The Spiderwick Chronicles) and I loved it. The story was pretty simple, to be honest, but the ending was just perfect. Not too mention that the books also have many artistic illustration inside which makes the book more appealing, especially for younger readers.

Doll Bones begins with a team of children, Zach, Poppy and Alice who love to make a play with their dolls. Zach's father, out of the blue, threw away Zach's doll, said that he was too old for him, leaving him in rage. Zach decided that the only way to cope was stop playing at once, though his friend disagreed with him.One night, the girls paid him a visit. Poppy swore she had been haunted by a doll and she asked Alice and Zach to help the doll returned to where she belonged.

Monday, June 9, 2014

How I Pick Books to Read

Hey everyone, great to see you again! Let's talk about our reading pile today! Oh, I know you have tons of books in your to-read list. It's a very common thing among bookworms, I reckon. I myself have hundreds of books I want to read and the list changes everyday. Sometimes I am so in the mood for serious books, other times I might be sick of it and my mood plays a big part in this. Now, here are things that influence me when choosing a book to read.

Monday, June 2, 2014

Review : Garden of Stones by Sophie Littlefield

Title : Garden of Stones
Author : Sophie Littlefield
Publication date : February 26th 2013 by Harlequin MIRA

What really caught my attention from this book was the cute little girl on the cover and when I read the description, I found out that it was a mother - daughter tale, so yes, it was enough to convince me to read it.

Set in 1940s, Miyako and Lucy Takeda had to live in special camp called Manzanar because of the Pearl Harbor tragedy, not long after Lucy's father death. Lucy's mother, Miyako was not mentally well and it made harder for Lucy to move on.

Decades later, Lucy was being questioned due to the death of someone she knew back then from Manzanar. Lucy's daughter, Patty, did some digging to clear her mother's name.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Game of Thrones TV Series : A Rant


Who doesn't love Game of Thrones TV series,? Uh, you must be living under a rock *coughs* Season 4 is airing now and waiting for the next episode is the most annoying thing in this world. As some of you may know, I am currently obsessed with this series. I am now reading book 5 (Dance with Dragons), can't wait for book six and even though I already know how the story goes (so far) there are some things that quite surprised me from the series. The first and second season changes didn't really bother me, but the third and fourth season, I think they kind of doing it too much.

It's not only the storyline changes that bothers me, anyway, but also the depiction of TV show. Please note that these are my personal opinions, you may or may not agree with them, so, alright, here are my two concerns about the TV show:

Friday, May 9, 2014

Review : The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Title : The One and Only Ivan
Author : Katherine Applegate
Publication date : Published January 17th 2012 by HarperCollins

I am so in the mood for children books lately. I don't think, I will ever outgrown them, they always have a place in my heart, no matter what. The One and Only Ivan is also a gloomy book, just as I "promised" in my previous posts, so please bear with me *winks*

Now, let's talk about The One and Only Ivan. Ivan is a captured gorilla, lives at the mall along with his friend, Stella, an elderly elephant, and Bob, a stray dog. He's used being stared all day by the mall visitors. During the difficult times, Ivan's owner bought a little baby elephant, Ruby. Together, Ivan and Ruby struggle to change their life forever.

If I could describe The One and Only Ivan with one word, it would be "superb". Applegate is the master when it comes to churning your feeling. I think she's one of very few children book authors out there that can make a simple tale to be extremely heart touching. This book makes me cry, both of sadness and joy. To sum it up, this book is simply impressive!

Sunday, May 4, 2014

My Top 5 Bookish Confessions

Ah, looks like I've never made any bookish confessions post in this blog. I know you might seen similar posts around especially in memes, but since i don't really participate them, I guess I should make one for my self. It's fun, if you haven't made that either, I think you should write one too *winks* Alright folks, here are my confessions: