Thursday, April 27, 2017

Review : Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Title : Burial Rites
Author : Hannah Kent
Publication date : September 10th 2013 by Little, Brown and Company

It might sounds a bit weird but I came to this book because of a movie. I was exhausted at work and even convinced that I hate it, so I approached Google, our good friend and searched for "movies to watch if you hate your job". 

And I watched this: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and magically. I felt so much better. Maybe it is because I actually made time to laugh at myself, I don't know but that movie was good for my mind.

And some of the scenes were set in Iceland. As a tropical gal, I always admire Iceland. It's a totally different world compared to where I live. You know, when you're used to having the sun all year, you're bound to admire the snow, or the fjords or the northern light. We don't have 'em here.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Freebies Time : Printable Bookmarks with Quotes

What's up, people? I hope you guys are doing great. Gosh, it has been a long time since I posted anything. I miss blogging so much and the last two months were a new beginning for me. Well, I was transferred to a another office and I am still adapting. Everything is new to me and I have to learn everyday. It's not easy because I am not as sharp as I used to be, blame it on my age. Thankfully, my new co-workers are nice and they help me patiently. 
 
I really hope I can start blogging regularly again. All I have to do now is to figure out how to shove it into my new daily routine. Nevermind that, I am not writing this post to complain. In fact, I have freebies to share with you guys!



Available for download are three printable bookmarks and since I love pretty words, I added some quotes on them, too. I love flowers, so you'll see that they're sprinkled with floral images as well. They're in standard bookmark size, you can use regular cardboard to print them on. 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Review : Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Title : Harry Potter and The Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8)
Author: John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Publication date: July 31st 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books

Raise your hand if this book seemed too good to be true to you! Well, in my case it did. At first, I was almost sure that it was a hoax made by the lunatic fan people. But heck, here it is. A book about characters that I miss oh so much.

I have to admit that even though Harry Potter doesn't belong in my childhood (because I read it when I'm an adult) nor I think that it's the best series ever (err.. I prefer ASOIAF but alright... alright, it's an idiotic comparison!) but somehow there's something (that I cannot pinpoint) in it that makes me miss it everyday. I wish I know about Harry's family, or whether Neville gets to reunite with his parents after all this years, yeah. Something like that.

The first thing I did when I started reading Harry Potter and The Cursed Child is to lower my expectation. Why? Because, it's a play, people. I am a novel kind of gal and I know nothing about a play. It's too fancy for me and I didn't expect myself to totally understand it. And yet, it amazed me. I enjoyed reading this book very much and I cannot describe how satisfied I am to finally get some news from those characters that I really miss.

Monday, January 30, 2017

How to Suck at Converting People into Bookworms

What's up, everyone? It has been a while since the last time I posted How to Suck at Everything, ain't it? Since, I am one the the sorriest blogger in this universe, you must have known that inspiration is never been my best friend. I felt blank often, wanting to write a new blog post but I stare at the wall instead.


Ahem.

Now, for today's topic, let's talk about every bookworm's dream. Converting a new soul into our kind. It's a hard process and what sucks the most is, it requires lots of luck (which most of us are lack of) and of course...

 *drum rolls*

Patience.

Because who has patience? None, silly. Actually there are some ways. My ways. The lamest ways. I wouldn't do that if I were you, but since this is my blog, I am free to blab about anything. I can talk garbage, if I want to. Like this post you're reading. So, the first ingredient of the disaster is to...

Stop talking to them imbeciles
... and tell me what differs us from the non-readers mortals? Yes, we're bookish and that's our superpower. There's no need to talk to them, what for? All you need to do is to act like a coolest person ever and fake that you're too busy to socialize. Show them books keep you occupied. The best way to attract people is to make it looks exclusive or mysterious. Humans are curious, entice them and once there's someone silly enough to notice your attitude and show interest...

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Review : The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Title : The Snow Child
Author Eowyn Ivey
Publication date : February 1st 2012 by Reagan Arthur Books

Hello, everyone! Nice to see you again. The first time I heard about this book was around 2 years ago. It had glowing review and people even mentioned that they nearly cried so I was instantly interested. I love books that can make me cry. Only the bittersweet one, mind you. Tears are good, as long as it's not overdone. 

Set in 1920s of the snowy Alaska, Jack and Mabel were too elderly couple who longed for a child. They felt their marriage was falling apart and Mabel even felt if their decision to move to Alaska was a mistake. One night, out of the blue, the couple released their inner child by building a snow girl, and since them a little blonde mysterious girl started to appear out of nowhere.

I have to admit that Ivey is a superb writer. As a person who lives in a hot tropical country, The Snow Child let me experience the cold snow of Alaska and gosh, it even gave me the chill. I also love the dialogue, the magical bits and pieces, but for the life me, I cannot feel for the character. To me, they lack depth and I wish they were written in a more complex way so I can believe that they were human. So, no. I do not get the same reader experience as some of the reviewers might do.

Monday, January 23, 2017

Authors I Want to Read More of

I thought being a bookworms means impossible to have a favorite author. See, "most favorite book" is the most despised question ever, so a favorite author must be a similar thing, right? Fortunately, no. Well, as am omnivorous reader, I read almost any genre (except for what I am not comfortable of, actually), but just like eating food, of course you will have your favorite, too!


If you check my profile on Goodreads, you will see the names listed below are on my favorite author list. I can say that I want to read every book written by them and I pray that they will continue writing for as long as possible. And of course, I wish that they get the attention they deserve because, gosh! They're too good to ignore. Let me introduce to them (yeah, as if they're not famous already!)

Tracy Chevalier
If you're a fan of historical fiction, you must be familiar with this name. She has written 9 books so far which some I have read and I am always satisfied. It didn't take me long to add her into my favorite author list and gosh! Chevalier is so underrated. The Hollywood so far only has made one movie out of her books. Can you believe that? One! (start with : The Virgin Blue, The Girl with a Pearl Earring).