Thursday, April 28, 2016

Review : The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan

Title : The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris
Author : Jenny Colgan
Publication date :  March 14th 2013 by Sphere

Hello everyone, nice to see you again! So, this is the first book I have read that related to a certain food. Chocolate. Gosh, I bet many of you love this sweet indulgence. From the title, this book is clearly about chocolate and the romantic city, Paris.

Anna Trent is a thirty-something woman, who works in a local chocolate factory. Accident happens, she quits job and while hospitalized, she met her high-school French teacher, Clare. The then teachers and pupil are now friends and the kindhearted Clare teaches Anna a more advanced French. Anna never knows that the fact that she's being hospitalized opens a new door for a life changing experience in Paris.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Reading for Busy People : Getting Back The Love of Reading

So, we're all busy. Be it the day job, kids, you name it. These can really suck up the energy and leave you exhausted. I stopped reading for a few year. A whole three years, in fact. I thought reading wouldn't work if you have young children. I didn't touch a book since I was pregnant my first daughter, until she was about 2 years old. I was overwhelmed with this new responsibilities. There's no word to describe how much I missed reading at that time.


As time goes by, I learned that it's completely possible to read while having young children, I never stop hunting for more books to read. I felt so much better (reading is a way to relax for me), and I am glad I discovered about this book blogging community, because I felt like being supported, though indirectly. Below are some tips that I find helpful in getting the love back, and they do work as long as you're not ready to let go.

Consider switching to different book format
The perks of living in modern era is that you get to pick which stuffs work better for you. Nowadays we're spoiled with paper tomes, audio books, electronic reads. All you need to do is choose which you like the most. In my case, this works wonders. Electronic ones are so much more convenient, I never look back. Who knows this will work for you, too!

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Review : The Matchmaker of Kenmare by Frank Delaney

Title : The Matchmaker of Kenmare (A Novel of Ireland #2)
Author : Frank Delaney
Published February 8th 2011 by Random House

Hello everyone! Great to see you again. After falling in love with the first book I couldn't wait to get my hands on the second installment. I was so impressed especially since the book was far outside my comfort zone. I also loved the main character, Ben and would very much love to see how he develops.

The Matchmaker of Kenmare is set around 13 years after the events in the first book. Ben was now a grown man, and because of a tragedy, he was broken. This led him to a local matchmaker named Kate Begley. A young and beautiful girl from a countryside from whom Ben would soon learn the art of matchmaking (a work task, anyway. How cool is that, I wish I had Ben's day job). The fact is, Kate Begley was more than a young girl from a countryside. She was strong-willed and she made Ben accompany her going through the devastating World War II.

Monday, April 18, 2016

How Many Books Do You Read at a Time?

I only read one. See, when it comes to reading, I can be a sucker, too. You know, I often browse Goodreads  famous users who reads like 200 books per year and I wonder what their secrets are. Do they have this super power lightning speed reading skill, or are they paid to read books, what? The most I read in one year is 48 books, which is in 2012. Mind you, I was on maternity leave and my newborn was the calmest baby ever, so I had more time to read.


So, I started to find the answer myself. Maybe they read more than one book at a time. Book juggling, how cool is that! And I tried. Believe me I tried. All it was screwing my focus. I once picked up Pillars of The Earth (three years ago, more or less) and since it is a long story, I thought I could read it along with other books. It's 2016 now and I haven't finished it. I always end up abandoning one book or the other! 

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Review: The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente

Title : The Boy Who Lost Fairyland (Fairyland #4)
Author : Catherynne M. Valente
Publication date : Published March 3rd 2015 by Feiwel & Friends

So, the Fairyland series is one of the very few series I am committed to. I am suck in following one because I love switching books when I finish reading and discover another world. But this Fairyland captured my heart.

Yes, the third book was a disappointment. It made me kind of mad, actually. The first two books were amazing, so don't blame me for the high expectation. I was almost going to abandon this series, but then I found out that Valente wrote a story from a different point of view of a totally new character. How intriguing is that?

So, I picked it up. This time with less anticipation. Hawthorn, a troll boy from Fairyland was sent by a fairy to the human world as a changeling. 

A Changeling is a little bomb dropped by Fairyland upon the human world for fun and profit.

As he arrived, he found difficulties in living as a human boy and constantly do the wrong thing (by the human standard). He felt lost, in one way, he'd like to make his human parents happy but in the other hand, he must not be himself which is a pure torture. The school begins and then found that he's not the only changeling there. He met another changeling friend that took him to a new adventure. 

Monday, April 11, 2016

Truths About Reading Slump

Hey, folks! Great to see you again. It has been a while since I write a blog post. Well, this early 2016 is not good for me in terms of bookish stuff. I am suffering from acute reading slump which caused by the lack of energy. Well, as you get older, you'll see that you're not as fit as you used to be. It's hard to swallow, but it's unavoidable. So yeah, I'd just have to accept it.



The last three months has turned me into a stone and/or a cow. Or a stone cow. I am so in need of entertainment to cool my self down. My day job is a never-ending task and it has taken its toll on me, I need a breather. I am in a phase where I need to scream, but then I thought I am too old to throw a tantrum. If you have any easy ideas on how let go off steam, do let me know. I really need it! All right, enough negativity, here are some things I learn after having a long reading slump:

If you wait too long, you'll lose interest
Pretty obvious. The longer you wait to pick up your book, the less interesting it becomes. A less interesting book will make you forget that you're once a reader. This what happens to me. Gosh, I have a Kindle in my handbag, when did I buy it?