Monday, August 3, 2015

Review : The Knockoff by Lucy Sykes & Jo Piazza

Title : The Knockoff (also known as Techbitch)
Author : Lucy Sykes, Jo Piazza
Publication date : May 19th 2015 by Doubleday

Hi guys! Great to see you again. I love reading about fashion, even though I may not know much about things behind the a famous fashion magazine. It's fun reading about how people do their job (which so much difference with your own) and The Knockoff is a story about an out-of-date fashion magazine turned app.

Yes, from printed to digital. Please do not connect it with the ebook vs. paper book debate, we've enough of it already. Imogen Tate is a well known editor of Glossy, a fashion magazine. She is famous of having good eyes for great products and photography. To sum it up, she knows everything about fashion and how to run a magazine.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Why I Stopped Doing Memes (and Maybe You Should, Too!)

For those of you who are new here, you would notice the lack of bookish meme on this blog. I did some of them in the past, just to have some fun. They are indeed fun, quick and easy. I stopped doing them because I didn't believe them giving benefits to my readers. I actually didn't enjoy it either, so it wasn't fair for me nor my reader to continue. Below are my other reasons why I believe bookish memes aren't for me:



It infests my feed
I use Bloglovin to help me keeping track with blogs I follow in one place. It's practical and saves a lot of time, me likey! Everything seems beautiful until it was bombarded with memes. Since I subscribe to tons of book blog, you can image how hard it is to find other blog post to read other then memes. Everybody and their moms are doing it, for God's sake! It drives me nuts because I have to do a never-ending scrolling to find a non meme post at the bottom of the world.

Monday, July 27, 2015

Review : Yellow Crocus by Laila Ibrahim

Title : Yellow Crocus
Author : Laila Ibrahim
Publication date : December 17th 2010 by Flaming Chalice Press

This is the second novel I read that was set on early America. The first was very impressive and I am so ready to get another one. When I first read the excerpt of this book I was instantly hooked. It highlights slavery and a story of a child and her wet nurse (or should I say wet nurse slave?). Doesn't it sound interesting?

Mattie was 20 year old slave with a baby of her own. Her owner was a high profile and respected plantation owner. As soon as they had a new daughter, Elizabeth, she was to breastfeed her. Mattie was forced to leave her own behind and live with her owner to nurse and take care of her master's daughter. Mattie missed her son, Samuel so much and on the other hand, she also loved Elizabeth.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Facing Big Changes in Life

Nightmares. I bet each of us had experienced it once in a while. Well, last week my husband was transferred to a new workplace. It's a culture in our work where you can only stay in one office for a couple of years before being transferred to another office. It was never a problem for me back then, heck, I was single and had no other responsibility other than to take care of my own self.
 

As you may know, Palembang is not my hometown. I moved here because I was to follow my husband. Family must stick together, right? So I left everything behind, my parents and relatives, my friends, and my old life. It was a long process, (bureaucracy, documents, etc), took more than a year to finalize before I came here. So, I can say that I had a long distance marriage, how sad does it sounds?

Monday, July 20, 2015

Review : First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

Title : First Frost (Waverly Family #2)
Author : Sarah Addison Allen
Publication date : January 20th 2015 by St. Martin's Press

Sarah Addison Allen is one of my (very few) favorite authors. Ever since she charmed me with Garden Spells, I was confident enough to covet her other books. She has this gift of making the ordinary world magical enough, even without dragons and wizard. So, when Goodreads email me of her new books (months ago, mind you), I was extremely exited and yay, I finally got to read the book.

Set 10 years after Garden Spell, Claire Waverly's candy business was booming. Her sister, Sydney was now confident enough with her "magical gift" and own her own hair salon. Claire wondered if the candy business was right for her. Her family kept on wooing her to go back to cooking but on the other hand, the money was good and she needed it to fund her daughter's, Mariah future college expense and meanwhile there was a mysterious man roaming around Bascom who was asking people around about the Waverleys.

Friday, July 17, 2015

We're on Vacation : Eid Mubarrak, Everyone!

When you read this post, we will be waiting for our flight. Me and my family are going to Banda Aceh, a province in far West of Sumatra. It is the place I was born and grow up until I finished high school. This is the second trip we took since I moved to Palembang, the first was in 2013, two years ago and I believe many things have changed (which I hope for the better). My youngest daughter, was still an infant back then and thankfully she was an easy baby to please so the journey was not difficult.



I miss my parents. Phone calls are of course nothing compared to meeting them in person. I miss seeing my hometown as well. Oh, and the food and I am now having the biggest craving ever. I wonder how everybody's doing and  hope the weather will be nice so we can go out and have some fun.

Happy Eid Fitri, for those of you who celebrate it. Let us virtual hug each other and may Allah give us blessings and forgiveness. Amin!