Sunday, April 19, 2015

Review : The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes

Title : The Girl You Left Behind
Author : Jojo Moyes
Publication date : September 27th 2012 by Penguin

When I first picked up this book, I thought I was getting a typical humorous  chicklit book that sets in modern time. I mean the girl in the cover looks like she's holding a laptop to me! I was wrong though and that's the perks of picking a book blindly. You'll tend to get surprises.

The Girls You Left Behind is actually a historical fiction book, if you ask me. It does have some chapters that set in present time, but the historical part of it is more prominent.

Sophie LeFevre, a young French woman was left by her husband, Edouard, to fight for the war. During that time, the German troops asked Sophie and her sister, Helene to cook for them which leads Sophie's conversation to the Kommandant and before she knew it, her life was in the hands of the Germans. Decades later, Sophie's painting was owned by Liv Halston which was gifted by her late husband. The painting brought too much attentions that forced Liv to find out more about Sophie's story.

Monday, March 30, 2015

Confessions of a Myopic

I am a myopic, I pretty much can't see something afar. Being myopic is annoying, so if your eyes are still working fine, be extremely grateful! I actually have this problem all my life, I guess but I was too careless. I thought my eyes are constantly watery, thus the blurry visions. I had no dizziness either so I thought my visions were just fine. 

Yep, until eye strain finally hit me. It. Was. Not. Fun.


I used to wear glasses like 7 years ago. I stopped wearing them because I didn't think it was the right power for me. I just walked in to the optical store and got my eyes checked, it was simply one of the biggest mistakes in my life. I ended up four-eyed and still with blurry vision. I can say I was half blind for the past 7 years. So, a few months ago, I decided that enough is enough. My eyes are getting older and literally causing me embarrassment at work because I couldn't read anything on the screen during a meeting.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Review : The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

Title : The Last Runaway
Author : Tracy Chevalier
Publication date : January 8th 2013 by E.P. Dutton

I read Tracy Chevalier's book for the for first time in 2006. Quite a long time ago and it was my first historical fiction read ever. The book was The Virgin Blue which is Chevalier's first novel. I borrowed it from a friend because I wasn't too interested with a not-so-easy novel. Chevalier is responsible for my love of historical fiction. She captured me from the very first sentences, that book toyed with my emotion and it was a fantastic reading experience. Mind you, I was so close-minded back then all I know is fantasy books but The Virgin Blue opened my horizon and changed my mindset altogether.

The Last Runaway is set in the 1890s, when America was still a very young country. It is a tale about the sisters Honor and Grace Bright who migrated from England to America hoping to start a new life. Grace, the older sister was to be married with her fiance in America and Honor came along with her. The life in America wasn't as Honor expected and she felt lost. There was one thing she didn't like the most, the slavery.

Friday, March 20, 2015

Yes, I Have a Small Blog and I'm OK with It

For those of you who are new to my blog, you might not know that it's more than 3 years old. It is quiet compared to newer and popular blogs out there. Well, of course I want to reach more audiences and talk to more people, but since I've had enough on my plates, I learned just to let it go. I stopped obsessing about the stats (page views or followers) and to tell you the truth, it's so much easier when you don't force yourself.



I am one of those people who worries too much. What if my writing is not good enough, what if my reviews are too boring to read, what if people don't like my products and I still have tons of what ifs that I cannot write here. Just a few years ago I learned to relax a bit. My life has never been better ever since. All you have do is do your best and let God decides what's best for you.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Are You in Reading Slump? Find Out with These Signs!

Every bookworms must face thing called reading slump once in a while. How addicted you are to book is irrelevant. In my case, these are times when I just want to lay down on my bed without a book in my hand. There are also times when even the catchiest title doesn't grab my attention. Yes, it happens and each person has his/her own unique reading slump signs. In this post, I'd like to point out some of the most common symptoms and how to overcome it.


Saturday, March 14, 2015

Review : When We Fall by Emily Liebert

Title : When We Fall
Author : Emily Liebert
Publication date: September 2nd 2014 by NAL 

I like a story about women in a small town. Perhaps it's because I used to live in a very small town and the possibility of being able to relate with the characters is a good reason to start reading it. When We Fall is one of them. Take a look at the cover! I love it, it's so beautifully designed. Well, what can I say? I am a sucker for pretty covers.

When We Fall is a novel about women of a small town called Wincourt. It has been 11 years since Alison Parker's husband, Jack died and she she decides that it is time for her to move on. Along with her son, Logan, Alison moves back to her hometown to live near her parents hoping it will ease the pain. She the meets Charlotte Crane at Logan's school, a local socialite and they become friends.