Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Review : Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

Title : Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter
Author : Seth Grahame-Smith
Publication date: March 2nd 2010 by Grand Central Publishing

Alright, those of you who have no idea who Abraham Lincoln is must be living under the rocks or hadn't pay attention in history class *chuckles* My first reaction when I read the book's title was like "what on earth! Man, I have to read this book!" And it happened last year, I totally forgot about it and I finally picked it up and read it last month. Such a long wait time, I know, but when it comes to choosing books to read, I am easy to distract.

The books is "alternate" version of Abraham Lincoln's life. When I say "alternate" it means that you should not take it too seriously nor use it as your historical reference. It's a fictional book to begin with, for Heaven's sake.

Monday, April 7, 2014

The Perks of Being A Book Blogger

You know, not even once in my (younger) life I thought of being a book blogger. Well, I was already an avid reader back then (always am, to be honest), but being a blogger? Nope, not until two years ago. Still, I am glad I made the decision to start a blog. Though I know this isn't going to be a popular one, I am perfectly okay with that. Blogging to me is therapeutic, it's for my own sanity. 

I am not an expert, but after two years of blogging, I can say that I have learned a lot so far. It has been a very enjoyable journey. Here are some things that are worth to be highlighted during my days of being a book blogger.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Review : The Hero's Guide to Storming The Castle by Christopher Healy

Tittle : The Hero's Guide to Storming The Castle (League of Princes #2)
Author : Christopher Healy
Publication date : April 30, 2013 by Walden Pond Press

Oh, I've been wanting to review this book for ages! It's the second installment of The League of Princes series which I adore, and to tell you the truth, I couldn't resist myself from picking it up immediately. The first book,  The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom was very impressive. Though it's meant for younger readers, it appeals to me perfectly. Well, sometimes you need a light and fun book, right, especially after reading books with complex plot, it's nice to give your brain a break.

Since Liam is unwelcome to be back home, he lives with Ella and Frederick in Harmonia. Days are full of combat training between Ella and Liam and it makes Frederick, well, a little jealous. One night, out of the blue, Liam is being kidnapped, by his fiancee, Briar Rose. The spoiled brat princess wants to force marry Liam to show everybody that the world revolves around her. Add the bandit king Deeb Rauber and the ruthless foreign warlord Rundark, (oh, don't forget the man-eating eel) and you'll get the point.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Make Your Blog Reader Friendly (Part 2)

Hello guys, nice to see you again! A few days back I posted the first part of how to make your blog reader friendly and now you are on the second part of this blogging tips series. For those of you who wants to check out the previous post, you can go to this link : Make Your Blog Reader Friendly (Part 1). Here are other things you can do to have happy readers:

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Want More Readers? Make Your Blog Reader Friendly! (Part 1)

It has been a long time since I write a post about blogging. To me, it's one of the hardest subject to write because for one, I am not a blogging expert (though I started blogging around four years ago, on and off), the second, I am not confident enough with my blogging skill that I myself struggle hard to make blogging fit into my schedule. Wish I were a more diligent blogger, but if you have a full time job and children, you know what I am talking about *winks*

Anyways, those hesitation of mine doesn't stop the itch inside me to write a post about blogging. These things below I think are must-haves for bloggers who want to be friendlier to their readers. It's just my opinion, anyway, it doesn't make me as a blogging guru just because I wrote this. Oh, since this is going to be quite a long post, I decided to break it into two parts. Now let's jump in

Friday, February 28, 2014

Review : The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy

Tittle : The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy (League of Princes #1)
Author : Christopher Healy
Publication date : May 1st 2012 by Walden Pond Press

To tell you the truth, this book had been sitting in my to-read list for more than a year. I didn't know what made me hesitate to pick it up sooner, I mean, this book has a pretty cover (which I am a sucker for), it's fantasy (my favorite genre), basically it has every elements to be picked sooner by me, but somehow it's the other way around. I guess, it wasn't its luck after all *sigh*

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom (man, this book has a long title!) is a retelling of world's most famous fairy tales like Rapunzel, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, all crammed in one book, one journey, one world. Sounds exciting? You bet it does! It's a book with a good sense of humor and a kick ass adventure!