Monday, May 30, 2016

Why Do Some People Read at The Beach?

Alright, let me explain first. This post in a genuine question. I believe in "you should read anywhere you like or anywhere possible", but I still do not understand this "beach read" thingy. Well, you are on Pinterest a lot, you'd see a lot of pinners save many reading lists like "beach reads of 2016" or "best of summer reads" etc. 

I don't understand beach read. Or summer read.

I am all for stealing time to read. If you don't know yet, I live in a tropical country, Indonesia. We get lots of sun here, so in my case, I love it when it rains. Cooler weather calms me. It is soothing and a very effective in improving my mood. So, of course I get the "curl up with a book on a rainy day" kind of thing. It's a perfect set up for a bookworm, after all.



Oh, I used to love near the beach as well. For years, in fact. So, I cannot say I see anything special in a beach. It's just water. With waves. And lots of sun. And heat. I understand the appeal, though, especially to you, Westerners. You love the summer, you adore the sun, beach reminds you of picnic time and sweet cold drinks, what's not to love about it?

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Review : A Well Tempered Heart by Jan-Phillip Sendker

Title : A Well Tempered Heart (The Art of Hearing Heartbeats #2)
Author : Jan-Phillip Sendker
Publication date : January 21st 2014 by Other Press

Hello everyone, great to see you again! So, I have talked about this wonderful book, The Art of Hearing Heartbeats and when I found out that it actually has a sequel, I was so excited for it, I just couldn't wait. The Art of Hearing Heartbeats was one of the best book I have ever read and I am confident enough it has changed my life because now I take the romance genre seriously.

A Well Tempered Heart takes place 10 years after the events on the first book. Julia Win, our main character was in the US minding her own business as usual. Her life seemed empty, she got engaged only for it to end. She lived alone, her family weren't close to her anymore, it was a bland life. Not to mention that her job was also starting to take its toll on her. Things got worse until she started hearing a voice. Of a woman. From the past.

Monday, May 23, 2016

So, You Want to Steal Time to Read (It Can be Done!)

This is a second part of Reading for Busy People. I thought I might add a follow up post because it is kind of a similar topic. Well, I am sure most of you know this saying : if it's important to you, you'll find a way, if it's not, you'll find an excuse. It applies nicely for this "stealing time", because when you're busy, sometimes you find difficult on how and which to prioritize.

The day I learned that reading is important to me was in 2011, yes, the year I started to blog about books. I never knew there's a community of book bloggers (and I am glad I found it). I blog because I wanted to start a reading journal, and to convinced myself that I could still read despite of having young children a full time job.




Having a blog does give me more encouragement. Yes, because I finally have a place to write how I feel towards a certain book. It also allows me to do some tricks to finish reading books, without feeling like being pressured into it. Below are things that work for me, if you haven't tried it, I highly recommend that you go ahead conquer that book. It is not that difficult, I promise. Now, let's see if you'll find your way or your excuse. 

Be pickier with what you choose to read
Although it has nothing to do directly with stealing time per se, being pickier saves you time so you don't have to motivate yourself as often to read. Why, because you read what you believe you'll love. It could be the genre, author or rereading a favorite book you used to adore. Reading would be an easier task, if you start by something that interests you.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Review : The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Title : The Nightingale
Author : Kristin Hannah
Publication date : February 3rd 2015 by St. Martin's Press 

So, who hasn't heard of Kristin Hannah? Well, if you read lots of chicklit or women's fiction, Hannah is one of the most famous authors on those genres. This is my first time of reading her work and since this is a historical fiction (her first attempt), I was so excited.

The Nightingale is a book about two French sisters Vianne and Isabelle, struggling to survive WWII. Their hometown was occupied by Nazi soldiers, food was rationed, husbands were going to the war. Everything was tough and it gets even tougher when NAZI started to discriminate and kill French Jews. Told with two point of views, one for the sisters, the other is narrated in the 1995 slowly unwrapping the tale of the heroic Nightingale.

Monday, May 16, 2016

Freebies Time: Printable Bookish Quotes for Book Lovers

Hello everyone! Great to see you again. I have soft spot for quotes and how those brief yet beautiful words impact my life. So, I created some for you, hopefully they will help brighten up your day (and your room, maybe). 



Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them (Lemony Snicket)



People say life is the thing, but I prefer reading (Logan P. Smith)




Do not read, as children do, to amuse your self, or like the ambitious, for the purpose of instruction. No, read in order to live (Gustave Flaubert) 


There are three quotes included on the file folders. Sized in standard 8x10" photo size (10 R), you can print them with with own home printer, for better result, I recommend having them printed at local print shop or photo lab. Good for wall decor or to sweeten up your desk. You can download them here

Visit this link for previous printable freebies.
Oh, I also have more printables for sale on my shop. Click here to take a peek.

Hope you'll like them. See you at the next post!

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Review : After You by Jojo Moyes

Title : After You (Me Before you #2)
Author : Jojo Moyes
Publication date : September 29th 2015 by Penguin Publishing Group 

So, who doesn't know about Me Before You. Those of you who love chick-lit and romance must be familiar with Moyes' work. Well, since I am quite a newcomer in this particular genre, I have admit I haven't read all her work, however, in order to be like a cool romance reader, I am glad to tell you that the first book is on my "read" list already!

Many people couldn't move on from Me Before You ending. I find it very impressive, memorable and touching too. So, of course I wanted to continue reading the story of Louisa Clark and I wondered what it is that was worth another book since the author herself never planned it to be a series.