Monday, February 6, 2017

Review : Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Title : Harry Potter and The Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8)
Author: John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Publication date: July 31st 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books

Raise your hand if this book seemed too good to be true to you! Well, in my case it did. At first, I was almost sure that it was a hoax made by the lunatic fan people. But heck, here it is. A book about characters that I miss oh so much.

I have to admit that even though Harry Potter doesn't belong in my childhood (because I read it when I'm an adult) nor I think that it's the best series ever (err.. I prefer ASOIAF but alright... alright, it's an idiotic comparison!) but somehow there's something (that I cannot pinpoint) in it that makes me miss it everyday. I wish I know about Harry's family, or whether Neville gets to reunite with his parents after all this years, yeah. Something like that.

The first thing I did when I started reading Harry Potter and The Cursed Child is to lower my expectation. Why? Because, it's a play, people. I am a novel kind of gal and I know nothing about a play. It's too fancy for me and I didn't expect myself to totally understand it. And yet, it amazed me. I enjoyed reading this book very much and I cannot describe how satisfied I am to finally get some news from those characters that I really miss.

Monday, January 30, 2017

How to Suck at Converting People into Bookworms

What's up, everyone? It has been a while since the last time I posted How to Suck at Everything, ain't it? Since, I am one the the sorriest blogger in this universe, you must have known that inspiration is never been my best friend. I felt blank often, wanting to write a new blog post but I stare at the wall instead.


Ahem.

Now, for today's topic, let's talk about every bookworm's dream. Converting a new soul into our kind. It's a hard process and what sucks the most is, it requires lots of luck (which most of us are lack of) and of course...

 *drum rolls*

Patience.

Because who has patience? None, silly. Actually there are some ways. My ways. The lamest ways. I wouldn't do that if I were you, but since this is my blog, I am free to blab about anything. I can talk garbage, if I want to. Like this post you're reading. So, the first ingredient of the disaster is to...

Stop talking to them imbeciles
... and tell me what differs us from the non-readers mortals? Yes, we're bookish and that's our superpower. There's no need to talk to them, what for? All you need to do is to act like a coolest person ever and fake that you're too busy to socialize. Show them books keep you occupied. The best way to attract people is to make it looks exclusive or mysterious. Humans are curious, entice them and once there's someone silly enough to notice your attitude and show interest...

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Review : The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Title : The Snow Child
Author Eowyn Ivey
Publication date : February 1st 2012 by Reagan Arthur Books

Hello, everyone! Nice to see you again. The first time I heard about this book was around 2 years ago. It had glowing review and people even mentioned that they nearly cried so I was instantly interested. I love books that can make me cry. Only the bittersweet one, mind you. Tears are good, as long as it's not overdone. 

Set in 1920s of the snowy Alaska, Jack and Mabel were too elderly couple who longed for a child. They felt their marriage was falling apart and Mabel even felt if their decision to move to Alaska was a mistake. One night, out of the blue, the couple released their inner child by building a snow girl, and since them a little blonde mysterious girl started to appear out of nowhere.

I have to admit that Ivey is a superb writer. As a person who lives in a hot tropical country, The Snow Child let me experience the cold snow of Alaska and gosh, it even gave me the chill. I also love the dialogue, the magical bits and pieces, but for the life me, I cannot feel for the character. To me, they lack depth and I wish they were written in a more complex way so I can believe that they were human. So, no. I do not get the same reader experience as some of the reviewers might do.

Monday, January 23, 2017

Authors I Want to Read More of

I thought being a bookworms means impossible to have a favorite author. See, "most favorite book" is the most despised question ever, so a favorite author must be a similar thing, right? Fortunately, no. Well, as am omnivorous reader, I read almost any genre (except for what I am not comfortable of, actually), but just like eating food, of course you will have your favorite, too!


If you check my profile on Goodreads, you will see the names listed below are on my favorite author list. I can say that I want to read every book written by them and I pray that they will continue writing for as long as possible. And of course, I wish that they get the attention they deserve because, gosh! They're too good to ignore. Let me introduce to them (yeah, as if they're not famous already!)

Tracy Chevalier
If you're a fan of historical fiction, you must be familiar with this name. She has written 9 books so far which some I have read and I am always satisfied. It didn't take me long to add her into my favorite author list and gosh! Chevalier is so underrated. The Hollywood so far only has made one movie out of her books. Can you believe that? One! (start with : The Virgin Blue, The Girl with a Pearl Earring).

Monday, January 16, 2017

Review : Jack : The True Story of jack and the Beanstalk by Liesl Shurtliff

Title : Jack : The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk
Author : Liesl Shurtliff
Publication date : April 14th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers 

If you hang out on this blog often, you'd know that I am a big fan of fairytale retelling and middlegrade fiction. Jack : The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk is both, so yay for me! Well, a few years back, YA fiction was filled with lots of retellings (and dystopia, ugh!), but not in middle grade books. I am glad I found this one and was so excited to read it.

I am sure as heck that all of you are already familiar with the classicstory Jack and The Beanstalk. The novel is pretty similar, though it has a few differences as well. This book involves a curse, the naughty boy Jack, the magic hen who lay eggs non-stop (yeah I know the magic hen also exists on the original story, but for the life of me, I swear it doesn't lay egg non-stop, yes?) and a sister! Guys! Jack has a sister, do you know that? I bet you don't!

Monday, January 9, 2017

Review : The Midwive's Confession by Diane Chamberlain

Title : The Midwive's Confession
Author : Diane Chamberlain
Publication date : April 26th 2011 by Mira 

The Midwife's Confession is my second time reading Chamberlain's work. I read The Good Father a few years ago and I liked it. This book has been sitting on my to-read list for a while. I was actually on a mild reading slump and by picking this up, I was hoping to chase it away.

The Midwive's Confession is a story about three best friends, Noelle, Tara and Emerson. Met at college, their friendship grew but despite of the closeness, one of the girls (the midwife, of course) hid a very dark secret that changed their life forever.

As cheesy as it sounds, I had to admit that I expected this book to be a novel version of a soap opera. Well, I wasn't completely wrong, but The Midwive's Confessions is just more than that. I like the way Chamberlain describes the friendship. I envy those girl.
“If you have a friend, a good friend, a woman you love, and you learn she’s done something abominable, do you stop loving her?” 
Er... I take that back. I am not envious. Sorry.