Thursday, August 27, 2015

Tutorial : How To Make Blogger Circle Profile Picture with PicMonkey

Hey ya'll! Hope you're doing great. Tired with your default picture? Let's prettify it a little. This time I'd show you how to make a circle profile picture for your blog, the easy way. Well, there are many ways actually, one of them is inserting some code into your template, creating it with Photoshop, but heck, who has the time for coding or messing with complicated image editor! This tutorial will show you how to create it easily even my 5-year-old can do it. Here are the steps:

Visit picmonkey.com, and click "edit" option.



Monday, August 24, 2015

DNF Review : Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff

Title : Kinslayer (Lotuswar #2)
Author : Jay Kristoff
Publication date: September 17th 2013 by Thomas Dunne Books

So, what's your first impression when seeing the cover of Kinslayer? I bet you would imagine that the heroine is a bad-ass girl who is superb with sword and afraid of nothing. I mean, look at that wicked tattoos, geez!

Wrong!

The heroine is lame and weak. All she cares about is boys. Slept with one, flirt with the other and this is a 16 year-old girl we're talking about. And you know what, she doesn't really play with her sword, she just acts like a bad-ass, but fails.

Since this is a DNF review, I'd skip the book introduction. I gave up at 50% because I have too many problems with this book. First, it is told in too many point of views. Everyone in the village gets to tell his/her own storyline and guess what, the story is spread to thin and I, as a reader is left confused. I mean, I don't understand what the book really wants. It is thick on pages but thin on plot which means it seriously needs editing. Really, nothing important happens in this book.

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Happy Birthday, Vanya!



Today is my youngest daughter's 3rd birthday. Being a threenager, she's now a big girl and independent enough to keep herself entertained while giving birth to her still feels like yesterday to me. Since she's still so young, there's not much to tell, so here are some pictures of her instead:

A few days after birth, I wish she still has those chubby cheeks.



Monday, August 17, 2015

How to Polish Your Blog When You Have No Idea What To Write

Stuck with blogging slump? Ah, we've all been there. When you first started blogging, you had so many ideas it was impossible to shut your brain. All you wanted to do is to write a new post. People said it's called blogging honeymoon, so enjoy it while last. They are right, it doesn't last. Sooner rather than later, you'll face something called blogger's block, a situation where you don't feel like writing at all. 


The thought of brainstorming headlines gives you dizziness and while you're at it, you try to fight it but the creative juice just won't flow. Rest assured that it is just the way your brain telling you that it needs its rest. Take it easy. Lack of ideas doesn't mean you just have to sit down and wait for it to come. It doesn't work that way. In fact, you can still do something productive to make your blog better which only take less than an hour of your time.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

7 Things I Am Grateful Of

I believe it is time to post something positive. I have done enough rant, and of course too much rant is not good for my self nor this blog. You wouldn't want to read too much rant, too, would you? Well, let's talk about things that you are grateful of. Fell free to add your own list on the comment section. Let's start with me!


#1 I am grateful for my job
Nowadays sustainable jobs are hard to find and to be honest, I have this hate-love relationship with my job. I hate it because it's tad boring, monotonous and takes too much of my time, but on the other hand, I (have to) love it because it brings food to the table. There are times when I just want to scream out loud because I feel like I've had enough of it. Despite of this roller coaster feelings it gives me, I am grateful for my job. It pays the bill and it pays for my hobby and that at least, what keeps me sane.

Monday, August 10, 2015

Review : The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

Title : The Night Gardener
Author : Jonathan Auxier
Publication date : May 20th 2014 by Amulet Books

Now that you look the cover, don't you think it's creepy? Well, I am not one who jumps into conclusions, but I didn't believe this was a ghost story. A mystery, yes! But a ghost? I don't think so. It turned out I was wrong, this is indeed a ghost story and speaking as an adult, it's a haunting one.

Two Irish siblings Molly and Kip traveled across England and looked for a job as house servant. Unfortunate things happened and they had nowhere else to go other than a creepy house belongs to the Windsor. Soon they find out about a peculiar tree and a mysterious gardener who only appeared at dark. Molly and Kip determined to find out more about the house, the tree and the gardener.