Monday, November 24, 2014

Yes, You Can Write Negative Reviews without Being Mean!


Let me tell you the truth, I have respect for people who stay civil even when a book has wasted their time. It's not the end of the world for them (and for me as well). Still there are some people who feel the need to use mean swear words or curse just to express their feeling which I don't think is necessary. You know, what you write on the internet is the representative of your self, just like your alter ego. Your writing is your reputation, and if you care about your reputation, you might want to rethink your review strategy.

Negative is negative, even without wicked words

I personally won't use swear words, but well to each their own. If you feel the need to stress some thing you don't like, maybe use the milder version like "darn", "freaking", etc. I don't think it lessen the emotional part of the review, but surely it would sound much friendlier.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

My Top 5 Guilty Pleasures : What Are Yours?


Hello everyone, great to see you again! For today's post, I'd like to talk about my guilty pleasures. I know many of you don't believe in it, and I want to not believe in it too, but trust me they exist! Sometimes you feel guilty just for satisfying yourself. While your mind would say "why would you feel guilty for something that make you happy?" your heart replies "hmm ... you shouldn't have done it." Frankly, I face this dilemma sometimes. Fortunately most of my guilty pleasures are harmless, here they are:

Guilty pleasure #1 : ramen noodle

I like ramen noodle very much it almosts harm me. You know, back in my childhood ramen noodle was completely banned at my home. My mother wouldn't allow me touch is because there's something in it that made my younger brother felt dizzy after eating it. I won't blame him, though because ramen noodle is one of the most unhealthy food out there. Then I reached my adulthood, I can do what I want and thanks to my mother attitude, now I see ramen noodle like a meal from heaven! Ha, so I ate it very often. It tasted so good I couldn't stop. 

Why feel guilty? I tried every flavors and brands I could find, until one day, it gave me skin rashes. That actually made me stop touching it (though I still crave for it every day).

The moral of the story: don't get too strict in not allowing certain food in your home, your children would look for it when they're beyond your supervision, or wait until adulthood to finally have a "revenge" (like me). Oh and always eat healthy food!

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

How to Write Quality Blog Post Everytime



I believe most of us bloggers have faced something called blogger's block, the days when you feel totally uninspired and don't feel to write anything. But hey, you have readers to entertain, and the most important thing, you love blogging, of course the only choice is to continue writing, no? Or, you might be a person like me that always wonder how those bloggers maintain posting new content daily. Well, to tell you the truth, just imagining it makes my back hurts! More power to them, it's not an easy goal to aim, but if you are serious, I am sure it can be done.

A good blog post needs planning. This is what I am lack of and I really want to master this. I am getting the hang of it, though you'll still notice ebb and flow between my posts, which I hope not as bad as in my old days. So far, I can say that planning does help. A lot. If you haven't tried it, I strongly recommend you to. Now, here are things that help me planning my blog posts:

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Review : The Moonlight Palace by Liz Rosenberg

Title : The Moonlight Palace
Author : Liz Rosenberg
Publication date : October 1st 2014 by Lake Union Publishing

The beautiful font of the book cover really attracted me, that's why I picked The Moonlight Palace up. Also, I have never read a historical fiction that is based in Southeast Asia and the fact that the book is set in 1920s Singapore, showed its uniqueness already.

Agnes Hussein is the descendant of the last Sultan of Singapore. Being from a royal family doesn't mean you're living with wealth. Agnes, together with her grandparents and great uncle had to fight against poverty. The used to be grand Kampong Glam palace was now just an old building infested with leakage. Agnes then decided to help her eccentric royal family and  collected her courage to search for opportunity in the outside world.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Why I Am Not really Into Crime Books


Hi there, lovely readers, great to see you again! If you take a look at the category of my blog post, you'll notice that I only read a handful of crime novels. It's one of a few genres that until now, I can't get comfortable with.  I still read them from time to time, but I cannot devote myself to read them more often. I have my reasons, and here there are:

They're too graphic

If you read a book about murder, usually the crime scene is describe with dead body, gore and the likes. Frankly, I am not strong enough for that kind of mess and to sum it up, criminal world has no place in my heart. Period. End of story. Having said that, I still open a door for books that have great synopsis, if it sounds interesting enough, sure, I'd pick them up.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Review : The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

Title : The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
Author : Jonas Jonasson
Publication date : Published July 12th 2012 by Hesperus Press

Hooray! I picked this book up because I was charmed by the title (instead of cover, like I usually do). I once was blogwalking and then I find the review of this book. I knew right then I had to read it soon, and here it is, ladies and gentlemen, my review of The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

Allan Karlsson is a hundred-year-old man who decided he didn't want to stay at the old people's house any longer. So right on his 100th birthday, he climbed out of the window and disappear, leaving everybody (the nursing home employee, the police, the journalists, etc) in panic.