Thursday, June 23, 2016

Review : Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

Title : Remarkable Creatures
Author : Tracy Chevalier
Publication date : August 24th 2009 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd 

Hello there! Glad to see you again. So, some of you may know that I am a big fan of Tracy Chevalier. I find her writing style to be very appealing, even on my first time reading her book, I was sure confident already to be her new fan.

Remarkable Creatures is not her newest book, I know. I have this pledge to read each work by her, so why not continue with one that has most unusual story? A tale of fossils and the admirers. I never knew that this book is based on true events. If you the characters, you will find that they were actual people. How cool is that!

Elizabeth Philpot was a fossil collector, just like many other aristocratic people on her social circle. With her two sisters, they moved from London to a smaller and quieter town, Lyme Regis. It turned out that the town was perfect for Elizabeth's passion and it led her to a local fossil seller girl, Mary Anning. Both Elizabeth and Mary were super talented and together they challenged the sexist judgement from the male scientists.

Monday, June 20, 2016

So, This Is How I Turned into a Reader

To tell you the truth, my reading diet wasn't as various. Kids nowadays seem to have a lot to choose from: magazine, mangas, comic book, children's chapter books, not to mention the graphic novels. How can I not be envious? There's a good side, though. My oldest is able to read now. Nothing complicated yet (like the newspaper), she can read short picture stories and I hope in a few months, she will be patient enough to digest a chapter book.

So, this is what she regularly reads for now. Most of the time, she still asks me to read for her, especially before bed. She would scream high pitch whenever she sees me bringing this magazine for her. It's so lovely to see her smiling wide.
 

It's actually a nostalgic thing for me. I used to be in her position, a child who would wait for her father to come home bringing a new magazine. And when at school, I couldn't wait for it to end and go home and read my new magazine. 

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Review : Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

Title : Crenshaw
Author : Katherine Applegate
Publication date : September 22nd 2015 by Feiwel & Friends 

For those of you who love children books must know the name Applegate. She's one of the most respected children's author out there and if you're my age, your childhood might have a place for her. Animorphs, anyone?

So, when I first saw Crenshaw, I was so excited. I actually read Crenshaw a few months ago, but I write reviews whenever I feel like it, which means not in chronological order, well you the idea.

Nine-year-old Jackson had a cat. An imaginary cat named Crenshaw. He believed he was too old to have an imaginary friend and Crenshaw had just long gone. An imaginary friend, doesn't stay, that's what Jackson thought. But the huge talking giant cat was back and it irritated Jackson even more especially that now his family was in struggle.

Monday, June 13, 2016

How Being A Book Blogger Changes My Life

When I started this blog, it never crossed my mind that I'd be still doing it now, 5 years later. It's something I started out of the blue, no planning whatsoever, heck, I didn't even know what I was doing. I thought it would be neat to record my bookish journey (after a very long period of not touching a single book). It has been quite a wonderful thing for me. Being a book blogger has changed my self, for the better and I am confident enough to say that I am not the reader I was.


I used to judge book by the cover
I still do, but that stops right there. I love pretty covers, I think it's already in my soul I cannot change it. However, book blogging makes me realize that sometimes book covers are misleading. Their only job is to catch the attention of the potential readers. The story itself is irrelevant, it could be way better or far worse than what the cover depicts. I learn just to admire it and now I believe covers and stories are two different beasts, not fair to clump them together.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Review : I Do Not Come to You by Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

Title : I Do Not Come to You by Chance
Author : Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
Publication date : May 5th 2009 by Hachette Books 

It is truth universally known that a person that has an email account must have received spam mail on his inbox. I Do Not Come to You by Chance is a book about those vicious e-mails. I still remember the dark days when spam filter was useless and my mailbox was infested with these fake proposals. I hate them with all my heart and when I saw this book, I knew I had to read it and see what it is actually about.

Kingsley Ibe was every parents' dream son. He was intelligent, had a good heart and he obeyed his parents command to the letter. Life was tough in Nigeria, and he realized that his smart brain didn't get him nowhere. Job was impossible to find, he couldn't bring food to the table. He was desperate and help came out of nowhere. He was introduced with quick ways to earn money: the 419 scam.

Well, the first chapter of I Do Not Come to You by Chance looked very promising. It was poetic, beautifully crafted, it earned itself an instant admiration from me. That changed 180 degrees as soon as I started the first chapter. It was a complete letdown and I hate to tell you that it didn't get better as the story advanced

Monday, June 6, 2016

What Are Your Dreams As A Book Blogger?

Hello everyone! Nice to see you again. It's now 2016 which means I have been book blogging for almost 5 years now. Gosh, time sure flies so fast! It's a learning experience for me, a precious one in fact. Being a blogger does help me to understand things deeper, gives me a lot food for thought and of course, dreams. Oh, we bookworms have dreams, too. To be frank, it would be so amazing if they come true, especially because they're a bit unrealistic and some are totally not up to me. But, hey! That's why they're called dreams, so here are mine and I am dying to know about yours!


To convert a non reader into a reader
... but I don't know how to do it without being rude, obnoxious or sound like a know-it-all. People around me said that they don't have time or reading is simply is not important enough to make time for. See, I am kind of hopeless with adults, so my biggest hope is my children. My oldest can't wait for the newest edition of her favorite children magazine. My youngest will come and join whenever I read to her sister. She would laugh if she finds something funny, good signs because that means she does listen to me when reading to them. God, I hope this last, because if they find books to be fun, I would be the happiest parent in the world. Next step is the nephew and niece, let's see if I can turn them into future book lovers!