Monday, January 16, 2017

Review : Jack : The True Story of jack and the Beanstalk by Liesl Shurtliff

Title : Jack : The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk
Author : Liesl Shurtliff
Publication date : April 14th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers 

If you hang out on this blog often, you'd know that I am a big fan of fairytale retelling and middlegrade fiction. Jack : The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk is both, so yay for me! Well, a few years back, YA fiction was filled with lots of retellings (and dystopia, ugh!), but not in middle grade books. I am glad I found this one and was so excited to read it.

I am sure as heck that all of you are already familiar with the classicstory Jack and The Beanstalk. The novel is pretty similar, though it has a few differences as well. This book involves a curse, the naughty boy Jack, the magic hen who lay eggs non-stop (yeah I know the magic hen also exists on the original story, but for the life of me, I swear it doesn't lay egg non-stop, yes?) and a sister! Guys! Jack has a sister, do you know that? I bet you don't!

Monday, January 9, 2017

Review : The Midwive's Confession by Diane Chamberlain

Title : The Midwive's Confession
Author : Diane Chamberlain
Publication date : April 26th 2011 by Mira 

The Midwife's Confession is my second time reading Chamberlain's work. I read The Good Father a few years ago and I liked it. This book has been sitting on my to-read list for a while. I was actually on a mild reading slump and by picking this up, I was hoping to chase it away.

The Midwive's Confession is a story about three best friends, Noelle, Tara and Emerson. Met at college, their friendship grew but despite of the closeness, one of the girls (the midwife, of course) hid a very dark secret that changed their life forever.

As cheesy as it sounds, I had to admit that I expected this book to be a novel version of a soap opera. Well, I wasn't completely wrong, but The Midwive's Confessions is just more than that. I like the way Chamberlain describes the friendship. I envy those girl.
“If you have a friend, a good friend, a woman you love, and you learn she’s done something abominable, do you stop loving her?” 
Er... I take that back. I am not envious. Sorry.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Favorite Books I Read in 2016

So, the year 2016 was a unfortunate when it comes to blogging. However, I managed to read more books compared to the previous year, so yay! This is not something worth bragging about, I know, since many bookworms out there even tackle hundreds of books a year. It's a skill I am very envious of. I finished 35 books last year, the very number I input on Goodreads. I usually only able to finished more or less 25 books. The audio books helps, and I am glad I discovered them. Don't ask me why it never crossed my mind to try them in the past, because I don't have the answer but my own silliness.

Out of those 35, two were DNFs. I just could not continue because they were so not my taste. Below are my top 3 favorite. Please do let me know in the comment section your version of 2016 top books!


A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor (Review)
This is my #1 favorite a.k.a the best book I read in 2016. It is the kind of books that I called "toys with your emotion" and it successfully made me cry like like it's the end of the world.

Monday, January 2, 2017

Audio Books I'd Been Listening To

Happy new year everyone! Great to see you again. As I have mentioned before, I am so very new to audio books. They caught my attention because I was tired of listening to music (which I usually do whenever I need to chase the bad mood away). See, many people of my age are not that up to date when it comes to recent music, so we listen to songs from our teenage days over and over. Most of our favorite artists have stopped performing because they get too old to be on stage or something like that. It's boring you know, listening to the same album over and over *shrugs*

But thanks to audio books, I don't have to deal with it anymore. I can listen to books, how wonderful is that? They're too long to memorize, they're impossible to sing along to, but still they kick ass. The saying that bookworms rarely get bored is accurate. We always find a way to devour books. Now here are some audio books I listened to:

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware. A nautical thriller set in Scandinavian sea. This is the first audio book I tried and I enjoy it, thanks to the wonderful narrator. The story itself was nothing special. I honestly dislike the main character because she was drunk all the time even while she was on medication. I just loathe characters that lack of self control. The ending is a bit rushed, still a decent thriller book, if you ask me.

Monday, September 5, 2016

Review : Cantik Itu Luka by Eka Kurniawan

Title : Cantik Itu Luka
Author : Eka Kurniawan
Publication date : January 2015 by Gramedia Pustaka Utama

First of all, I wouldn't have heard about this book if it wasn't for a phone app I downloaded about a month ago. A bookish app, a virtual library to be precise where users can borrow ebooks and read them on their phone. An awesome app, if you ask me. It is called iJakarta, and if you are from Indonesia (or speak Bahasa Indonesia), it is a good source for reading materials. 

People rave this book and it got me curious so I borrowed it. Cantik Itu Luka has been translated into several language as well, English included, which called Beauty is a Wound. I read this in its original language, Bahasa Indonesia (because I speak it, duh!) and well, here's what I think of it.

Monday, August 29, 2016

So I Started to Workout and This Is How I Feel

I am one of the most nonathletic person in this planet. I am skinny, petite and sport is just too intimidating for me. I am not built for it. I don't have any reason as to why I should workout. Don't blame me, if you watch Youtube videos or look at Pinterest infographics, 99% of them are labelled with "weight loss". I don't want to lose weight, heck I need to gain more pounds, to be honest. I felt grumpier and grumpier.

And guess what, feeling grumpy is one of the signs that you need to workout. 

Ironic isn't it? So I started digging. I didn't like the way I feel, didn't like the way I looked. After giving birth of two children, this body really needs to be toned up a bit. I started with what they called the easiest and cheapest workout ever. Running. 


So, there's a jogging track just beside my workplace. A perk that I didn't take advantage of even after (almots) 7 years of working at this building. Everybody goes there, young and old. Not only for running, there are also kids practicing with their skateboard in the afternoon. It's a fun place, actually but I overlooked it.