Tuesday, September 30, 2014

How to Survive Reading Thick Books


I used to be terrified of thick books. The first thing that comes to my mind when I see one is, how many years would it take to finish it. Now, though sometimes I feel nervous, at least I am not terrified anymore. Hey, I managed to finished big series (A Song of Ice and Fire, Harry Potter) and you know what? I still crave for more.

I can say that thick book actually has an advantage. If you love it so much you don't want it to end, well a thick book is for you. It will still end, but at least not that fast *giggles*If you are just starting to read thick books, I've got some tips for you. These are what work for me, if you have your own tips, feel free to drop some at the comment section!

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Review : The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw By Christopher Healy

Title : The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw (League of Princes #3)
Author : Christopher Healy
Publication date : Published April 29th 2014 by Walden Pond Press

Some of you may know that I am in love with this League of Princes series! The previous two books were so awesome that they left me in a bad mood because the third book wasn't published yet. When it's finally published, I was reading the last book of A Song of Ice and Fire, so I had to wait for a while before I start reading The Hero's Guide of Being an Outlaw.

The story stars with a news of Briar Rose a.k.a Sleeping Beauty murder case. The friggin bards make the people of the whole kingdoms believe that The League of Princes (Liam, Duncan, Gustav and Frederic) along with their girls allies (Ella, Lila, Snow and Rapunzel) to be the murderers. Meanwhile in the other part of the realm, the ruthless warlord Rundark is plotting to take over the whole kingdom by using the Djin gem that enables the holder to control people's mind.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

After A Long Hiatus...


After a long hiatus, I forgot that I have a blog.

Now can you believe that! Yes, sad but true. I have too many things going on my head right now and I have to admit that it's so typically me. I have many so called "passions", I love trying new things and sometimes (or should I say many times) the distract me from my routine.

I still can't believe I took three whole months to finally touch this blog again. Don't get me wrong, though, I love my blog with all its weaknesses, but when you have many things too handle (and it's time sensitive), it's so easy to lose track of your priorities.

As some of you know, my Etsy shop is growing (to my surprise) and I so grateful and happy because of it. Well, yes, it requires my time, lots of it to be frank and sometimes after all the work I've done, all I want is to find a pillow have a good rest.

Have you ever feel so tired that all you need is a pillow?

I am tired, but I am happy at the same time. Does it make sense? I don't know, but that's just how I feel. Having said that, I believe that I am so ready to blog again and I will try my best to post regularly as I  have finished all fine books of A Song of Ice and Fire, so no more big fat tomes for now as that series eat a lot of my time. Of course, reviews will come *winks*

All right, that's all for now. I am off to write some new post, if you will. Can't wait to chat about books again. Yay!

So, what's going on in your life lately?

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Review : Doll Bones by Holly Black

Title : Doll Bones
Author : Holly Black
Publication date: May 7th 2013 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

I am not really into horror books, frankly. If you check on the post categories in this blog, you'd see only a handful of them. So, I thought, why not read one, well, just in time, I found Doll Bones and I am instantly interested.

I read Black's novels a few years back, (The Spiderwick Chronicles) and I loved it. The story was pretty simple, to be honest, but the ending was just perfect. Not too mention that the books also have many artistic illustration inside which makes the book more appealing, especially for younger readers.

Doll Bones begins with a team of children, Zach, Poppy and Alice who love to make a play with their dolls. Zach's father, out of the blue, threw away Zach's doll, said that he was too old for him, leaving him in rage. Zach decided that the only way to cope was stop playing at once, though his friend disagreed with him.One night, the girls paid him a visit. Poppy swore she had been haunted by a doll and she asked Alice and Zach to help the doll returned to where she belonged.

Monday, June 9, 2014

How I Pick Books to Read

Hey everyone, great to see you again! Let's talk about our reading pile today! Oh, I know you have tons of books in your to-read list. It's a very common thing among bookworms, I reckon. I myself have hundreds of books I want to read and the list changes everyday. Sometimes I am so in the mood for serious books, other times I might be sick of it and my mood plays a big part in this. Now, here are things that influence me when choosing a book to read.

Monday, June 2, 2014

Review : Garden of Stones by Sophie Littlefield

Title : Garden of Stones
Author : Sophie Littlefield
Publication date : February 26th 2013 by Harlequin MIRA

What really caught my attention from this book was the cute little girl on the cover and when I read the description, I found out that it was a mother - daughter tale, so yes, it was enough to convince me to read it.

Set in 1940s, Miyako and Lucy Takeda had to live in special camp called Manzanar because of the Pearl Harbor tragedy, not long after Lucy's father death. Lucy's mother, Miyako was not mentally well and it made harder for Lucy to move on.

Decades later, Lucy was being questioned due to the death of someone she knew back then from Manzanar. Lucy's daughter, Patty, did some digging to clear her mother's name.