Monday, March 23, 2015

Review : The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier

Title : The Last Runaway
Author : Tracy Chevalier
Publication date : January 8th 2013 by E.P. Dutton

I read Tracy Chevalier's book for the for first time in 2006. Quite a long time ago and it was my first historical fiction read ever. The book was The Virgin Blue which is Chevalier's first novel. I borrowed it from a friend because I wasn't too interested with a not-so-easy novel. Chevalier is responsible for my love of historical fiction. She captured me from the very first sentences, that book toyed with my emotion and it was a fantastic reading experience. Mind you, I was so close-minded back then all I know is fantasy books but The Virgin Blue opened my horizon and changed my mindset altogether.

The Last Runaway is set in the 1890s, when America was still a very young country. It is a tale about the sisters Honor and Grace Bright who migrated from England to America hoping to start a new life. Grace, the older sister was to be married with her fiance in America and Honor came along with her. The life in America wasn't as Honor expected and she felt lost. There was one thing she didn't like the most, the slavery.

Friday, March 20, 2015

Yes, I Have a Small Blog and I'm OK with It

For those of you who are new to my blog, you might not know that it's more than 3 years old. It is quiet compared to newer and popular blogs out there. Well, of course I want to reach more audiences and talk to more people, but since I've had enough on my plates, I learned just to let it go. I stopped obsessing about the stats (page views or followers) and to tell you the truth, it's so much easier when you don't force yourself.



I am one of those people who worries too much. What if my writing is not good enough, what if my reviews are too boring to read, what if people don't like my products and I still have tons of what ifs that I cannot write here. Just a few years ago I learned to relax a bit. My life has never been better ever since. All you have do is do your best and let God decides what's best for you.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Are You in Reading Slump? Find Out with These Signs!

Every bookworms must face thing called reading slump once in a while. How addicted you are to book is irrelevant. In my case, these are times when I just want to lay down on my bed without a book in my hand. There are also times when even the catchiest title doesn't grab my attention. Yes, it happens and each person has his/her own unique reading slump signs. In this post, I'd like to point out some of the most common symptoms and how to overcome it.


Saturday, March 14, 2015

Review : When We Fall by Emily Liebert

Title : When We Fall
Author : Emily Liebert
Publication date: September 2nd 2014 by NAL 

I like a story about women in a small town. Perhaps it's because I used to live in a very small town and the possibility of being able to relate with the characters is a good reason to start reading it. When We Fall is one of them. Take a look at the cover! I love it, it's so beautifully designed. Well, what can I say? I am a sucker for pretty covers.

When We Fall is a novel about women of a small town called Wincourt. It has been 11 years since Alison Parker's husband, Jack died and she she decides that it is time for her to move on. Along with her son, Logan, Alison moves back to her hometown to live near her parents hoping it will ease the pain. She the meets Charlotte Crane at Logan's school, a local socialite and they become friends.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Review : Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

Title : Stormdancer (The Lotus War #1)
Author : Jay Kristoff
Publication date : September 18th 2012 by Thomas Dunne Books

You know, I have never read a steampunk novel before and when I picked this book, I didn't know it belongs to that genre. I thought it was a merely fantasy story with a samurai girl as the protagonist. I was wrong though, first because a samurai didn't dress like she does on the cover. Second, well, I never really read book blurb, so it's easy to miss important parts until I get my hands on the book.

Yukiko is a sixteen year old girl from Kitsune (Fox) clan. She has this gift of being able to communicate with animals telepathically. Her father, Masaru along with his friends Kasumi and Akihito are hunters that specialize in mythical creatures. The ruthless shogun command them to catch the hunter tiger a.k.a. griffin a.k.a. arashitora that is well known to be extinct.

Friday, February 27, 2015

Life Lately : Crazy Days and The Fangirl Moment

Hey guys! Great to see you again. It has been awhile since I updated my blog. Days were hectic and quite stressful for me. Just two weeks ago, my youngest daughter, Vanya was ill. I spent the whole week caring for her. This is not the first time for me caring for a sick child, but it sure was the most stressful one. Her fever didn't break until the third day despite of having medicine and since some of my co-workers' children were hospitalized because of dengue fever, I was scared to death that my daughter would share the same sickness.


So, we want to the lab, had her blood checked and ta da, no dengue fever. Relieved? Nope, we found out that she's diagnosed with paratyphoid fever! I was so worried and sad. I wish I could just move the darn disease out of her. I wish I was the one being sick. She was irritable, cranky, weak and sleepy all the time. She just wanted to be held, even when she was sleeping. It broke my heart to see her like that. It hurts to see your loved one in agony while there's nothing you can do to help except waiting for the medicine to work.